Underage DWI Charges
Looking for a lawyer for an underage DWI case in Round Rock?
If you are under age 21 in Texas, it is illegal for you to consume alcohol
with two exceptions. One, if you are on private premises (non-alcohol
selling premises) and you have consent from a legal guardian. Second,
if you are on alcohol-selling premises and have the consent of a legal
guardian. These exceptions; however, do not alter the laws regarding driving
while intoxicated if under age 21. Texas has a zero tolerance law regarding
DWI for underage drinkers. This means that if a driver under age 21 has
a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) with any amount of alcohol detected, they
could be facing
DWI vs. DUI for Underage Drinkers
Drivers under the age of 21 can be charged with DUI or DWI depending on
the details of the offense. Only drivers under 21 can be charged with
DUI, which is a Class C offense. DUI involves 'driving under the influence'
and is punishable by license suspension for 60 days and a fine of up to
$500. DWI is a different offense involving 'driving while intoxicated'
and has harsher penalties. The consequences for underage DWI in Texas includes:
First DWI Offense in Texas:
- Between three and 180 days in jail
- A fine of up to $2,000
- Up to a 90 day license suspension
Second DWI Offense in Texas:
- Up to one year in jail
- A fine of up to $4,000
- Between a three day and one year license suspension
Contact Williamson County DWI Lawyer, R. Scott Magee
If you have been arrested or charged with an underage DWI offense Texas,
you need aggressive DWI defense. Team up with a Round Rock criminal attorney
from our firm to have almost 2 decades of experience by your side.
Contact R. Scott Magee, Attorney at Law today set up your