Texas Robbery Laws
Round Rock Theft Crime Lawyer Fighting for Clients in Georgetown & Williamson County
Robbery is one type of theft crime that can be charged in Texas. There is also aggravated robbery, or armed robbery, charges that can come about with certain elements in the case.
In order to be charged with robbery in Texas, the prosecutor must prove, beyond a reasonable doubt, that the following things took place:
- The defendant committed theft;
- The defendant took the property with the intent of depriving the owner of the property; and
- The defendant intentionally or recklessly caused bodily injury to another; or
- The defendant intentionally or recklessly threatened the victim or caused fear of bodily injury
If being charged with aggravated robbery, the offense will have either involved a deadly weapon, an elderly victim or disabled victim.
Consequences of a Robbery Conviction
Robbery offenses are generally charged as second degree felonies in Texas. This level of felony is punishable by between two and 20 years in state prison along with a fine of up to $10,000. If the offense is considered aggravated robbery, the defendant could be facing first degree felony charges. A first degree felony in Texas is punishable by between five and 99 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
Defend your rights - contact a criminal defense attorney today!
Need am attorney for a theft crime offense? When facing robbery charges, you need to look into the potential defenses for your case. A skilled Round Rock criminal attorney from our firm can pursue defenses showing a lack of intent, a lack of knowledge, a lack of bodily injury or fear of injury plus more.
Contact R. Scott Magee, Attorney at Law today for a free case evaluation and get started in building a hard- hitting defense against your robbery charges.