November 24, 2023
Most sex crimes lead to mandatory registration as a sex offender in Texas. But What Crimes Can Put You On The Sex Offender List? Examples of some of these offenses include:
Depending on the seriousness of your crime, you are required to register for ten years or for life. To complete the registration, you need to provide details such as your address, photo, and details about your conviction to law enforcement officials. That is why you need to rely on the services of a sex crimes attorney if you’re charged with this type of crime.
Three major sex crimes that require sex offender registration are sexual assault, aggravated sexual assault, and super aggravated sexual assault.
The term sexual assault refers to a sex crime that may take the form of attempted rape, fondling or unwanted sexual contact, or forcing the victim to perform certain sex acts. These acts might involve penetrating the perpetrator’s body or oral sex.
This crime lacks aggravating factors, making it a second-degree felony.
Aggravated sexual assault includes an aggravating factor, such as the threat of injury, having sex with a disabled person, or bodily harm. Aggravated sexual assault is usually considered a first-degree felony. The sentence for the crime is 5 to 99 years behind bars. Offenders are not eligible for probation.
Super aggravated sexual assault occurs if the victim is a minor under 6 to 14 years old. The accused may also have caused serious bodily harm or death to a child or an adult. Offenders might exhibit a deadly weapon or may have given the victim a date rape drug.
Offenders may be incarcerated from 25 to 99 years, and probation is not allowed for indicted defendants.
More specifically, you’ll need to register as a sex crime offender for life for the following offenses:
Below are sex crimes that mandate a sex offender registration of 10 years:
Only three crimes in the Lone Star State do not require sex offender registration. They are:
While the above crimes are not categorized as a sex registration offense, the prosecution may still require that a defendant register as a sex offender. It just depends on the exact facts and circumstances of the crime.
Compliance is important, including updates. If you fail to register seven days after you’re released from incarceration or you’ve completed probation, you’ll be facing another felony offense and conviction.
Therefore, not registering as a sex offender can lead to some severe repercussions. Getting charged with failing to register may lead to a six-month to 2-year confinement in a Texas state jail and the payment of a $10,000 fine.
Texas has some of the toughest sex offender registration requirements in the United States. These requirements are driven by a public policy that focuses on safeguarding children and communities. The registration process plays a role in informing the public about threats and aiding law enforcement efforts to prevent future sexual offenses.
Again, in the event of a conviction for assault or rape, you will face some harsh consequences that include mandatory registration as a sex offender.
Texas law expressly addresses child abuse and exploitation crimes that warrant sex offender registration. Some examples of these crimes include;
You can have your name removed as a sex offender, provided you meet certain criteria. These criteria include the following requirements:
One exception for minors involved in sex crimes involves the age of consent, referred to as the Romeo and Juliet law. The legislation states that minors between 14 and 17 can engage in consensual sex as long as one party is within three years of the age of the other party – that is, as long as they’re at least 14 years old. This prevents indictments for consensual relationships between teens that may be interpreted as statutory rape.
Unlike most states in the US, the legal age of consent in the Lone Star State is 17 years old. If an adult engages in sexual activity with an individual under the age of 17, it is defined as statutory rape, regardless of whether the sex was consensual or nonconsensual. This law is based on the idea that minors cannot give informed consent.
Restrictions placed on sex offenders who are registered in Texas include the following:
If you’ve been convicted of a sex crime and have questions, you need to retain legal services without delay. In Texas, contact R. Scott Magee, Attorney at Law, PLLC.
Contact R. Scott Magee, Attorney at Law, to receive expert guidance and dedicated representation for your criminal defense case.
Categories: Criminal Defense