# Board Certified Representation in Williamson County...read more #

Burglary

Contact us

Burglary Attorney Williamson County, TX

Texas Burglary Laws

Burglary is a similar offense to criminal trespass but more serious. This
is a type of theft crime in Texas that can result in harsh consequences.

In order to be charged with burglary, the prosecutor must prove all of
the following beyond a reasonable doubt:

  • The defendant entered into a private habitation or part of a building not
    open to the public;
  • Did not have consent from the owner; and
  • Had the intent to commit a felony or theft offense

It can also be the case that the defendant did not necessarily enter into
the building unlawfully, but remained hidden in property beyond the hours
open to the public and had the intent to commit a felony. It is important
to note that this offense involves the intent of the defendant, it does
not specify that the felony or theft actually had to take place.

Looking for a
lawyer near you?

Texas Burglary Penalties

The charges that follow a burglary offense will depend on the property
entered, the victim and the details of the offense.

The potential sentences and penalties include:

Second Degree Felony Burglary:

  • Between two and 20 years in prison
  • A fine of up to $10,000

State Jail Felony Burglary:

  • Between 180 days and two years in state jail
  • A fine of up to $10,000

Class A Misdemeanor Burglary:

  • Up to one year in county jail
  • A fine of up to $4,000

Defense for Your Burglary Case in Williamson County

In order to avoid the serious penalties on the line, team up with a burglary
lawyer Williamson County from our firm for help. There are many defenses
to be made in order to help your case, such as showing mistakes in the
facts, a lack of intent to commit a felony or even entrapment.

In addition to Williamson County, Texas, here are some of the other communities we serve:

Contact our firm online or call (512) 983-1675 to get started with our Williamson County burglary attorney!

Case Results

Case Dismissed

 

State v. C.B – Drug Charges

Case Dismissed

 

State v. A.D. – DWI (involving accident)

Dismissed

 

State of Texas v. T.C. – Sexual Assault

What Makes Us Different?

Board Certified Attorney

Attorney Scott Magee is Board Certified for his specialization in Criminal Defense.

Protect Your Freedom

We will fight for you. We are committed to tirelessly pursuing evidence that proves your innocence.

In-Depth Investigations

We do not take shortcuts. We perform an in-depth investigation of the arrest circumstances.

Free Case Evaluation

We offer free case evaluations to help clients learn more about their legal options.

Respected in the Community

Attorney Magee is a reputable attorney who is respected by his peers, colleagues, and universities.

Results That Matter

We fight to obtain dismissals, reduced or dropped charges, and favorable plea bargains.

We Will Fight For You

We represent individuals facing state and federal charges in Texas.

Have you Been Arrested for a DWI?

Learn what to do after an arrest.

#

This page has been written, edited, and reviewed by a team of legal writers following our comprehensive editorial guidelines. This page was approved by attorney R. Scott Magee who has more than 15 years of legal experience as a practicing criminal defense attorney.

Start Building Your Defense Today